Darden Bucket List

As a second-year (SY) graduating in six weeks, a lot of us have been thinking lately about what’s missing from our Darden experiences. Charlottesville has a lot to offer, and while I’ve gotten to know the area well, there are a few things missing on my Darden bucket list. With a light course load (I overloaded in Q3), there is no better time than the present. My personal bucket list includes:

  • Visit wineries. We had a fun winery tour last Saturday, but there are still spots in the area I haven’t hit up yet. Pippin Hill is one I’ll definitely have to visit.
  • Hike Old Rag. Again, I’ve done a few hikes already, but the Old Rag hike is supposed to be great.
  • Catch up with professors. There are a number of professors I hope to stay in touch with after graduation. That I’m at Darden every day and haven’t found the time to chat with some of my former Section A profs is kind of pathetic.
  • Golf at a course other than Birdwood. Particularly after graduation when a lot of SYs will be sticking around town for a few weeks.
  • UVA Lacrosse. Despite the recent struggles of the men’s team, UVA has great tradition in lacrosse. Sitting outside in the sun and watching spring sports, whether it’s baseball or lacrosse, is amazing.
  • Visit Montpelier. Definitely in the cards during graduation weekend with the fam. Enrolling in the Thomas Jefferson reading seminar, I was lucky enough to get a private tour of Monticello (also, I can think of nothing worse than trying to visit Monticello during graduation weekend).
  • Restaurants. I won’t bore anyone with a list of restaurants I have visited versus still need to visit, but there are some great spots to dine in Charlottesville. I also definitely need to visit The Barbeque Exchange in Gordonsville
  • Beach week events. There are a lot of fun ideas for social events that friends have been throwing around. Beach week (May 5-12, when the majority of the graduating class heads down to North Carolina beach houses) will be the perfect time to try out new games, theme parties, etc.
1 Comment

Filed under First Year Experience

One response to “Darden Bucket List

  1. Pingback: Fridays From The Frontlines - Clear Admit Blog

Leave a Reply

